Women's CricketEnglish BlogsFeatured

Ismot Ara, Sovana Mostary, Shaila Sharmeen star in their sides win in DPL

On the fifteenth day of Dhaka Women’s Premier Division Cricket League, BD Ansar & VDA Cricket Team, Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan and Sk. Rasel Sports Development Academy registered convincing wins over Kalabagan Krira Chakra, Gulshan Youth Club and Rupali Bank Krira Parishad respectively.

Here is the fifteenth-day round-up:

Match 1: Kalabagan Krira Chakra vs BD Ansar & VDA Cricket Team

BD Ansar & VDP Women’s won the toss and elected to field first. Their decision became fruitful as Kalabagan Krira Chakra started losing wickets from the very beginning. Courtesy to Ismot Ara who took a 6-wicket haul. Along with her, Tithi Rani Sarkar picked up 3 wickets and bundled their opponent within 52 on board in 23.3 overs.

While chasing the low total, BD Ansar & VDA Cricket Team also suffered a batting collapse. They were seen struggling to chase the mere total in front of strong bowling. They lost their 7 wickets within 13 overs when Lily Rani Biswas scored a stable 18 off 31 and handed over the win. Ismot Ara was awarded the ‘Player of the Match’ for her 6-wicket haul.

Match 2: Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan vs Gulshan Youth Club

Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan won the toss and opted to bat first. Though the openers Farzana Akter Lisa and Murshida Khatun Happy fell very cheaply, Sovana Mostary scored a century (116 off 119), including 17 fours and a six. Along with her ton, other batters contributed a little bit and put up a decent competitive total of 210 on board in 50 overs.

Chasing the huge total, openers Tania Sarkar Ila and Neha fell for a duck. Tomalika tried to steady the ship, scoring 37 off 86. But lack of support from other batters bundled them within 105 in 39.4 overs. Sanjida Jannat Shanu bagged 4 wickets while Shirin Akter took 2 for BKSP. Sovana Mostary was awarded the ‘Player of the match’ for her century.

Match 3: Rupali Bank Krira Parishad vs Sk. Rasel Sports Development Academy

Rupali Bank Krira Parishad won the toss and elected to field first. Openers Sk. Rasel Sports Development Academy, Saee Purandare and Iti Mandal tried to get off a flying start but failed to do so. Purandare fell for mere 13 while Iti Mandal scored 14. However, Shaila Sharmeen scored a 115-ball 83 which guided them to put up a total of 169.

Chasing this low total, Rupali Bank Krira Parishad openers Shuktara Rahman and Isma Tanjim both got dismissed for mere 11. Later, Jannatul Ferdous Tithi and Nishshanka Silva tried their best but fell for 25 and 44 respectively. Other batters failed to add the rest of the runs and eventually bowled out for 142. Shaila Sharmeen was awarded the ‘Player of the match’ award for 83.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button