Women's CricketEnglish Blogs

Nigar Sultana Joty, Disha Kasat guide their teams to comfortable win

On the twenty-first day of Dhaka Women’s Premier Division Cricket League, Khelaghar Shamaj Kalyan Shamity and Mohammedan Sporting Club Ltd registered convincing wins over Abahani Ltd and Sk. Rasel Sports Development Academy respectively on the first day of Super League.

Here is the round-up:

Match 1: Khelaghar Shamaj Kalyan Shamity vs Abahani Ltd

Abahani Ltd won the toss and elected to field first. Asked to bat, openers of Khelaghar Shamaj Kalyan Shamity couldn’t provide a steady start as Sathi Rani Barman and Rubaiya Hayat Jilik managed to add only 22 runs. However, Sanjida Islam steadied the ship with a 123-ball 77 whereas Nigar Sultana Joty scored 67 off 101. Their 113-run stand took them to 210 after 50 overs.

While chasing, openers of Abahani Ltd also failed to contribute much. Disciplined bowling from the bowlers left them struggling at 77-5 after 23.1 overs. However, Taj Nehar and Jahanara Alam tried their best to steady the ship, adding 39 runs but that too didn’t stay long. Lack of support from other batters bundled them within 158 on board. Taj Nehar top-scored with 34 off 50. Nigar Sultana Joty was awarded the ‘Player of the Match’ for knock as well as her brilliant work behind the stumps.

Match 2: Sk. Rasel Sports Development Academy vs Mohammedan Sporting Club Ltd

Sk. Rasel Sports Development Academy won the toss and elected to bat first. Unfortunately, both their openers Saee Purandare and Chamari Atapaththu fell within 5 balls for 10. Shaila Sharmeen also fell for mere 6. However, Tain Tahera and Rumana Ahmed added 38 runs. Later, Tajia Akter scored 26* but bowlers didn’t allow the batters to stay a  long time at the crease and bundled them within 113. Ritu Moni bagged 3 wickets while Disha Kasat and Salma Khatun took 2 each for Mohammedan Sporting Club.

Chasing the low total, Mohammedan Sporting Club openers Fatema Akter and Sharmin Akter Supta added 20 runs before the former fell for just 6. While another opener Sharmin Akter Supta fell for 13. Disha Kasat remained unbeaten for 48 while Sharmin Akter and Ritu Moni scored 21 and 11 respectively and took the team over the finish line within 38 overs. Disha Kasat was adjudged the ‘Player of the Match’ for her all-round performance.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button