English Blogs

Sachin Tendulkar wins the prestigious Laureus Sporting moment award in Berlin

Wins accolades in the same platform with Messi, Hamilton being other high profile awardees


Indian cricket is gifted with a wonderful moment on 17th February 2020 as Sachin Tendulkar wins the prestigious Laureus sporting achievement award in Berlin for the iconic sporting moment in India’s cricket history when he was on the shoulders of his teammates in that amazingly memorable victory lap after India won the World Cup final for the 2nd time in 2011 after beating Srilanka at Mumbai, Wankhede stadium. The award was bestowed on him by German Tennis legend Boris Becker and Sachin’s fierce contemporary ,a legend in his own right, Steve Waugh.  It was a great moment on 2nd April 2011 after India won the World cup and it is indeed a great honour for India that this World cup moment was chosen for this highly prestigious award  along with the Wotld cup winning moment of the famous rugby team , the Springboks.

The Laureus Sporting Moment Award (2000-2020) public fan vote was won by Tendulkar. Voted by sports fans around the world, the Award celebrated moments from the past two decades where sport has unified people in amazing manner. Indeed another feather on Tendulkar ‘s cap.

In a very touching speech after getting the award ,Sachin remembered the iconic South African President,  the late Nelson Mandela stating his support for sport and what it does to unify people. Sachin also dedicated his award all the great sportspersons who promoted sports in the world through their excellence in respective fields specially those who made best use of limited facilities to achieve excellence and popularise sport amongst the youth.

Laureus award for sporting excellence started at the beginning of this century and has completed 20 years. Tennis great Roger Federer had won the highest number of awards in this event which is 6 times.

Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton and footballer Lionel Messi were declared joint winners of the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award in this years event while US gymnast Simona Biles won the world sportswoman of the year.

Thus it goes on to show the weightage of this award as Sachin earned the right to win such a highly acclaimed accolade which has been won by some of the greatest living legends of World sport such as Federer, Messi and Hamilton and that too in a country which does not follow cricket. This award is not only a great moment for Indian cricket but World cricket as well as the World cricket body, the ICC is taking strong steps in recent years  to globalise the sport .



Amitava Mukherjee

A commerce graduate with work experience in Banking sector. An avid sports enthusiast. Big fan of soccer cricket and tennis

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button