English BlogsFeaturedWomen's Cricket

Seventh day of Dhaka Premier Division League abondoned due to rain

On the seventh day of Dhaka Women’s Premier Division Cricket League, Abahani Ltd, Rupali Bank Krira Parishad and BD Ansar & VDA Cricket Team took on Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan, Kalabagan Krira Chakra and Khelaghar Shamaj Kalyan Shamity respectively.

However, all three matches were abandoned due to rain.

Here is the seventh-day round-up:

Match 1: Abahani Limited vs Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan

Abahani Limited won the toss and opted to bat first. Due to rain, the match reduced to 32 overs. Abahani Ltd.’s decision became fruitful as Sharmin Sultana and Shamima Sultana got off to a flying start, adding 108 runs in 19.1 overs. Sharmin Sultana fell after scoring 56 off 62. Another opener Shamima Sultana scored 45 off 56 before her dismissal in the same over to Sanjida Jannat Shanu.

Later, Babita Meena scored a 38-ball 23 and Sripali Shiromala scored run-a-ball 12 and helped the team to put up 154 after 32 overs with the loss of 4 wickets.

Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan’s run-chase started in a great way despite being the loss of the opener Farzana Akter Lisa for mere 7. Another opener Murshida Khatun Happy and Sovana Mostary started to resurrect the innings. While Murshida Khatun scored a blitzy 28 off 17, Sovana Mostary scored a quickfire 39 off 26 and added 65 runs. The game was stopped when the score was 78 after 8 overs. Later, it was called off due to rain.

Match 2: Rupali Bank Krira Parishad vs BD Ansar & Kalabagan Krira Chakra

Rupali Bank Krira Parishad won the toss and elected to bat first. The game reduced to 10 overs due to rain. Openers Shuktara Rahman and Isma Tanjim took on every bowler and added 63 runs in 10 overs. While Shuktara Rahman took the charge and scored 35 off 32, including 5 fours and a six, Isma Tanjim supported her well, scoring 23 off 28 with 3 fours.

However, the second innings didn’t start due to rain and eventually, the game was abandoned.

Match 3, BD Ansar & VDA Cricket Team vs Khelaghar Shamaj Kalyan Shamity

BD Ansar & VDP Cricket Team won the toss and elected to bat first. Due to rain, the match was decided to play in 36 overs. While batting, they lost their opener Aysha Akter for a five-ball duck, another opener Shahnaj Parveen scored an 81-ball 42. However, disciplined bowling from Mumtahena Hasnat sent Shova Khanom, Reshma Akter and Ismot Ara for a single digit. However, Panna Ghosh scored 18 off 43 while Tithi Rani Sarkar 21* off 26 and put up a total of 108 after 36 overs.

Chasing the total, openers of Khelaghar Shamaj Kalyan Shamity, Mukta Magre and Sanjida Islam got off to a slow but steady start. Both added 36 runs in 8 overs before the game was stopped due to rain.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button