English BlogsFeaturedWomen's Cricket

Shamima Sultana, Farzana Hoque Pinky guide their teams to convincing victory

On the eleventh day of Dhaka Women’s Premier Division Cricket League, Abahani Limited and Rupali Bank Krira Parishad registered convincing wins over BD Ansar & VDP Cricket Team and Mohammedan Sporting Club respectively.

Here is the tenth-day round-up:

Match 1: Abahani Limited vs BD Ansar & VDP Cricket Team

BD Ansar & VDP Women’s won the toss and opted to bat first. Opener Shahnaj Parveen scored 50 off 72 while the other opener, Shova Khanom fell for 4. Later, Sumi Akter and puja Das both dismissed for 8. However, Masuma Akter Shapla and experienced Panna Ghosh tried to score big before their dismissal for 28 and 51 respectively. Later a batting collapse bundled them to 188 on board. Sandiha Islam Asha took 3 wickets while Sripali Shiromala took 2 for Abahani Ltd.

While chasing the total, the openers of Abahani Ltd, Sharmin Sultana and Shamima Sultana got off to a flying start, adding 42 runs in 8.4 overs before Sharmin Sultana got out for 23. Babita Meena then scored 38 off 79. Alongside her, Taj Nehar scored a 29-ball 23 and Sripali Shiromala scored 21 off 26 and took the team to the finish line with 5 balls to spare. Shamima Sultana awarded the ‘Player of the match’ for her 44 off 62.

Match 2: Rupali Bank Krira Parishad vs Mohammedan Sporting Club

Rupali Bank Krira Parishad won the toss and elected to bat first. Though the opener Isma Tanjim fell for a duck, another opener Shuktara Rahman scored 23 off 47 before her dismissal. However, the middle order couldn’t do much as Nishshanka Silva and Lata Mondal both fell for a duck. On the other hand, Farzana Hoque Pinky held the innings from the other end. Shashikala Dedunu scored a 56-ball 33 and Jannatul Ferdous Tithi scored 25 off 40. Pinky remained unbeaten at 110 which came off 126, including 10 boundaries and 2 sixes which lift them to 225 after 50 overs.

Chasing the total, both the openers Ferdousi and Sharmin Akter Supta fell very cheaply. Later, a 75-run partnership came from  Disha Kasai (57 off 85) and Nuzhat Tasnia Tupma (29 off 6) before latter’s dismissal. However, Salma Khatun and Ritu Moni tried their best but their efforts were not enough to get past the line and managed to put up only 203 runs on board. Farzana Hoque Pinky was awarded the ‘Player of the match’ for her unbeaten century.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button