English Blogs

Sydney Sixers win BBL09 beating Melbourne Stars

Rain curtailed game at Sydney

The Big bash season 9 comes to an end at a rainy  SCG with home team Sydney Sixers winning a rain curtailed final reduced to 12 overs a side against a formidable Melbourne Stars who ended as league toppers in Round Robin stage. Finally , as seen in most T20 events, the team processing a formidable bowling lineup more often than not ends up as the winners. Sixers almost had a test quality bowling attack comprising of Jos Hazlewood,  Steve Okeefe, Nathan Lyon and Sean Abbott. And adding to that the batting prowess of Phillipe and Steve Smith makes it a formidable outfit against Stars which looked upto Marcus Stoinis, Glen Maxwell and Peter Handscomb to give them a strong foundation for quality bowlers  Harish Rauf and Adam Zampa.

Batting 1st in a delayed start due to rains, the Sixers were given a headstart by Phillipe’s smashing 54 off 29 balls and well replenished by Steve Smith’s menacing but brief knock of 21 off 12 balls which included an astonishing 6 over midwicket off Harish Rauf clearing 86 metres. Phillipe aged 22, once again showed why he is rated so highly, playing cracking shots all round the park enthralling the crowd. Silk added 27 brisk runs off 15 balls at the end to take Sixers to 116/5 in 12 overs with Zampa and Maxwell taking 2 wickets apiece for stars.

In reply , the formidable bowling attack of Sixers came to the fore as Star lost wickets rapidly with Stoinis (10) , Maddinson , Maxwell , Handscomb falling cheaply in quick succession as the bowling trio of  Lyon, Okeefe and Hazlewood (1/18 off 3 overs) proved too formidable reducing the stars to 54/6  . Finally the 7th wicket  partnership of Larkin (38) and Coulter Nile managed to create some nervous moments for Sixers with strong hitting. However the bowlers kept up the pressure and Stars finally ended at 97/6 to lose by 19 runs. This is Sydney Sixers 1st BBL title since inaugural year. Phillipe was the man if the final while Stoinis (705 runs at 54 average and 136 strike rate) was the man of the tournament with most runs. D.Sams of  was the biggest wicket taker in this edition with 30 wickets in 17 games at below 8 economy rate.


Amitava Mukherjee

A commerce graduate with work experience in Banking sector. An avid sports enthusiast. Big fan of soccer cricket and tennis

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button