Women's CricketEnglish BlogsFeatured

Velocity Qualify For The Final Despite Losing By 12-Run

Jemimah Rodrigues scored a scintillating 48-ball 77 as Supernovas registered a comfortable 12-run win over Velocity and qualify for the finals at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium on Thursday, May 9.

Velocity won the toss and elected to field first. Asked to bat first, Harmanpreet Kaur-led Supernovas got off to a flying start. Openers Chamari Athapaththu and Priya Punia took on the bowlers from the very beginning. However, that didn’t stay long as Shikha Pandey removed Priya Punia for 16 who miscued the back length delivery and ended up giving the catch to Veda Krishnamurthy at mid-off.

Her dismissal brought Jemimah Rodrigues in the crease. She welcomed Komal Zanzad with a cover drive and then a straight drive. While on the other end, Athapaththu was seen struggling to score, Rodrigues was as fluent as a pro on that sluggish surface. Her back to back big shots took them to 63 after the halfway mark.

They both added 55 runs for the second wicket before Athapaththu got dismissed for 31. She missed the google from Amelia Kerr, stepped out and tried to loft it but ended up being stumped in the 12th over. That didn’t affect Rodrigues’ batting as she continued to slam the bowlers. She hit two consecutive boundaries off Komal Zanzad in the 14th over and later one of the experienced bowlers Ekta Bisht in the following. With the last boundary off Bisht, Rodrigues reached her half-century off 31 balls.

In the next over by Kerr, Rodrigues got two lives when Hayley Matthews dropped an easy catch at deep mid and the following delivery was an easy chance of stumping by Sushma Verma. Those drop chances cost Velocity a lot as Rodrigues started hitting more all over the park.

However, she didn’t get proper support from the other end. In-form Sophie Devine was seen struggling who fell for 9 off 14 while Harmanpreet Kaur also struggled with the bat and managed to score a single run off 5 balls. Jemimah Rodrigues remained unbeaten at 77 off 48 and put up a decent competitive total of 142 on board after 20 overs.

Velocity’s chase started with the big blow as they lost their in-form opener Shafali Verma for mere 2 while Radha Yadav bowled her with a yorker. Hayley Matthews was next to follow for 11 when Anuja Patil trapped her before the stumps. However, Danielle Wyatt showed her presence to everybody with the maximum when she hit Radha Yadav over long off. After that, she smashed Radha for two sixes and a four within two overs and then took on Patil for another four.

Captain Mithali Raj gave good support to her by rotating the strike and hitting boundaries. However, Wyatt fell for 43 off 33 with four fours and two sixes off Poonam Yadav’s fuller length delivery which eventually bowled her. After her dismissal, Velocity went to qualify for the final. They had to score 117 to qualify and they did it well. Both Raj and Veda Krishnamurthy played stable knocks and made sure they reach the final.

In the fourth ball of the 18th over, Mithali smashed Harmanpreet Kaur over the cover region for a boundary and reached the 17-run mark. Mithali remained unbeaten at 40 while Veda scored a 29-ball 30*. All three teams ended with one win each, but due to superior net run-rate, Supernovas and Velocity will play the final. The two teams will face each other at the same venue on Saturday, May 11 for the final.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button