English BlogsFeaturedWomen's Cricket

Women’s T20 Challenge Will Take Place During IPL Playoffs

Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur are likely to lead

Women’s T20 challenge is going to take place during the playoffs of the 12th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL), 2019. The three-team will take place in the tournament, confirmed by BCCI on Monday, April 23.

The tournament will be played in a single round-robin way between the three teams – Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity, from May 6, 8 and 9 and the final will be on May 11 between the top 2 teams. Sawai Man Singh Stadium in Jaipur will host all the matches while the matches are expected to be televised on the BCCI’s host broadcaster, Star Sports Network.

Last year a one-off exhibition match was played between Trailblazers and Supernovas. Smriti Mandhana led the Trailblazers and Harmanpreet Kaur led the Supernovas. It was played before the 1st qualifier of the men’s IPL at the Wankhede Stadium with a 2 pm start The match was televised but was played in the middle of the afternoon with a 2 pm start which left the stadium nearly empty.

The players like Ellyse Perry, Meg Lanning, Alyssa Healy, Beth Mooney, Suzie Bates, Sophie Devine, Danielle Wyatt etc. were featured in the last year’s game; which ended on the last ball thriller. However, this year’s round-robin tournament will help to understand whether a full-fledged Women’s IPL is feasible in the current scenario or not.

Moreover, one new team, Velocity, has been added this year along with Trailblazers and Supernovas; which is expected to be led by Mithali Raj along with Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur respectively. However, the full players’ list is yet to be confirmed.

“The Women’s T20 will be made up of three teams playing four matches in Jaipur as standalone games during the 2019 IPL Playoff week,” BCCI told in a press release.

“The teams will comprise current and future stars of Indian cricket playing alongside a selection of the world’s best players. The combined strength of talent on display will showcase the quality of women’s cricket,” the


May 6 – Supernovas vs Trailblazers

May 8 – Trailblazers vs Velocity

May 9 – Supernovas vs Velocity

May 11 – Final


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button