English Blogs

World Cup final 2011 : A Flashback

Gambhir (97), Dhoni (91no) steers India to 2nd World cup win

2 April 2011 ,a momentus day in Indian cricket as India won their 2nd World cup title after 28 years since their first in 1983 . Wankhede stadium was packed to capacity and nobody could hear Sangakarra’s call when the toss happened, hence the toss was taken again resulting in Sangakarra winning it and batting first.

Indian bowlers started very well giving nothing away as Tharanga and Dilshan found difficult to score .Tharanga (2) went cheaply caught beautifully by Dhoni off Zaheer while Dilshan (33) was dismissed by Harbhajan which paved the way for the two legends Sangakarra and Mahela Jayawardene to forge a long stand. Mahela looked in great touch finding the gaps beautifully with crisp wristwork while Sanga was the slower of the two . Sangakarra (48) was finally caught behind off Yuvraj but Jayawardene continued scoring off glorious shots specially towards offside and got great support from Kulasekara who scored a run a ball 32. Later Thisara Parera smashed 22 notout off just 9 balls to push Srilanka to 274/6 after Mahela competed his well deserved 100 to be notout at 103. Till that moment no player has scored a 100 in the final in a losing cause. Srilanka looked the more bouyant team at the change over. For India Yuvraj (2/49) was the most successful bowler along with Zaheer (2/60).

In reply Malinga struck early as India lost Sehwag (0) lbw and a review . However Tendulkar looked in great touch and along with Gambhir set about India’s chase at a good pace till thunder struck when Sachin (18 off 14 balls)nicked Malinga’s outswinger to leave Indian fans tensed. Having already hit a fabulous straight drive and a square cut , Sachin looked well poised for possibly his hundredth 100 at his home ground and thus his dismissal shook the fans.

However Gambhir would have none of it and picked up momentum playing mostly of the front foot ,even stepping out to faster and slower bowlers alike . Kohli (35) gave him good support while himself playing some fluent strokes till his dismissal brilliantly caught and bowled by par timer Dilshan.

This paved the way for Dhoni Gambhir stand as Dhoni surprising everyone by coming ahead of Yuvraj ,who was reportedly not feeling 100 % ok.

However with Muralidharan  bowling at that stage , Dhoni did not want to expose Yuvi to Murali , and his batting promotion proved to be a masterstroke.  Savage cuts and drives set India on its way as Gambhir on the other hand was all set to complete his hundred till a rash stroke against the run of play brought about his downfall as he was bowled for 97.

Finally Yuvraj made his appearence and immediately announced himself with a classy pull shot as he and Dhoni set about finishing the job , Runs flowed relentlessly as Srilankan spinners struggled hard to grip the ball in dew. Finally the moment of glory after 28 years came with 10 balls to go as Dhoni lofted a huge six of Kulasekara to seal India’s win as wild celebrations began at the Wankhede under lights. India won by 6 wickets with Dhoni ( 91) and Yuvraj (22) remaining notout and engulfed soon by their teammates as team celebrations began on the ground itself. An emotional Sachin Tendulkar who finally wins a World cup medal does the victory lap on shoulders of Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina !!

Dhoni for his 91 was the man of the match in the final while Yuvraj Singh for his allround performance throughout the event was declared the man of the series as the Marine drive was swarmed by fans while the fireworks began and celebrations went on deep into the night with next day being Sunday.


Amitava Mukherjee

A commerce graduate with work experience in Banking sector. An avid sports enthusiast. Big fan of soccer cricket and tennis

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button